#MeToo. What’s Next?

With the explosion of #MeToo, survivors of sexual harassment and violence have been exposing a culture that enables abuse, especially in our workplaces. Have you been wondering what to do next?

Join UltraViolet staff for a one-hour training call, Thursday, April 4, at 6pm ET/3pm PT, to learn more about a brand new bill being introduced in Congress to curb workplace harassment—and what you can do to support it.

Maestro Conference Registration

Harassment in the workplace is an enormous problem, especially for lower-wage workers, immigrants, and women of color—and the true scope of the problem is just being exposed. At the end of 2018, a whole year after Tarana Burke’s #MeToo movement went viral, the number of sexual harassment charges filed with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission increased by 12%.1 The restaurant industry is the fastest growing industry and the largest employer of immigrants in the United States—and as many as 90% of women and 70% of men in those jobs have reported some form of sexual harassment.2 And research shows that when people speak up, their claims are often ignored, or worse, result in retaliation.3
No person should have to experience harassment, especially while earning a living. And while the problem has remained clear, the path forward to ending this cycle of harassment in the workplace has not always been so—until now. This year, we have an opportunity to organize and lift up gold standard national legislation that will drastically curb workplace harassment. Advocates and leaders in Congress have been crafting a bill that would ensure anti-harassment laws cover ALL workers, make it easier to report instances of harassment and abuse at work, create a fair wage for workers across the country, especially those in the service industry, and much more.

This new workplace anti-harassment bill is going to be introduced next week, right before members of Congress are back in their home districts for April recess. This is the perfect opportunity to come together, learn more about the bill, and make a plan for what to do over the upcoming recess to help it gain momentum. Here are the details of the call:

What: “Pressuring Congress to End Workplace Harassment,” a webinar training by UltraViolet staff

When: Thursday, April 4, 6pm ET/5pm CT/4pm MT/3pm PT

Where: Anywhere! Join this webinar training on your computer and/or your phone

Make no mistake—we’re fighting a long game here. Over the next two years, we’ll need to continue fighting back against those in Congress who would rather keep the status quo. But if we can build public support for these solutions NOW, we can make sure this bill becomes law as soon as the sexual predator in the White House is gone.

Yes! Sign me up for this call to find out how we can pressure Congress to end workplace harassment, Thursday, April 4, at 6pm ET/3pm PT.

No, I can’t make the call on Thursday, but please send me a recording of the training so I can review it on my own time.

Send me a copy of “Pressuring Congress to End Workplace Harrassment”.

Thanks for taking action.

—Shaunna, Kat, Karin, Holly, Kathy, Susan, Anathea, Emma, Pilar, Natalie, Melody, Pam, Lindsay, Ryan, Sonja, and Noma, the UltraViolet team

Sources:

1. EEOC releases sexual harassment stats one year after #MeToo, HRMorning, October 11, 2018

2. Restaurants after #MeToo: How this ‘wake-up call’ is impacting harassment training, Restaurant Dive, March 11, 2019

3. Study finds 75 percent of workplace harassment victims experienced retaliation when they spoke up, Vox, October 15, 2017

Last edited by Courtney.   Page last modified on April 01, 2019

Legal Information |  Designed and built by Emergency Digital. | Hosted by Steadfast Networks