ACA/Medicaid Webinar for Disability Advocates on Tuesday Jan 17th

Mental Health Task Force/ Make It Work Milwaukee Update

Access to healthcare and long term supports are priorities for our coalitions. Please find information below on a webinar scheduled for next Tuesday, January 17, 2017 from 2:30 PM to 4:00 PM that will discuss how the Affordable Care Act repeal and Medicaid reform will impact people with disabilities. You will also be able to ask questions.

We encourage you to participate and report back on any key information and strategies that may be helpful to the work of our coalitions.


How ACA Repeal and Medicaid Reform Will Impact People with Disabilities And What You Can Do!

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Join national and state-level disability advocates for a webinar focused on one of the most pressing issues facing people with disabilities: Congressional effort to repeal the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and convert federal Medicaid funding into block grants.

3:30–5 pm Eastern
2:30–4 pm Central
1:30–3 pm Mountain
12:30–2 pm Pacific
11:30 am-1 pm Alaska
10:30 am-12 noon Hawaii

Advocates based in Washington, DC will provide a report on what they are observing on Capitol Hill, and discuss what will happen next. Advocates based in various states will discuss their work to educate lawmakers and grassroots people about the importance of these healthcare programs for people with disabilities. The ADA Legacy Project’s DisBeat will provide advice on collecting personal healthcare stories from people with disabilities and how to build a guerilla marketing campaign to call attention to our issues. There will be an opportunity to ask questions.

National speakers: Lindsay Baran, National Council on Independent Living (others TBD)
State-level speakers: Florida, Massachusetts, Texas (still confirming)
Media: The ADA Legacy Project’s DisBeat

You will not want to miss this! Those across the states interested in healthcare for people with disabilities will want to join in. We can and will galvanize disability electoral power as we head into a new Administration by being informed and empowered. Join your brothers and sisters from across the nation.

This webinar is free of charge and made possible with support from the National Disability Leadership Alliance (NDLA), The ADA Legacy Project, Access Living, the NDLA Organizers Forum, and the Great Lakes ADA Center.


This session will be available on-line via the Blackboard Collaborate System. This system is accessible to individuals who use screen readers or other forms of assistive technology. Closed captioning is available within the platform as well. Individuals using assistive technology, especially screen readers are encouraged to review information about the platform and how it works available on-line at THIS LINK.

If you are unfamiliar with the webinar platform and wonder if your computer system will be compatible you can review information that is available on-line at THIS LINK. Instructions are available on this page for testing the configuration of your computer and the requirements. We recommend you review this information prior to the session.

There is also a Blackboard Collaborate App available for Mobile Devices including Android, Apple and Kindle Fire HD. You can download the app in advance of the session from either Google Play, Amazon or ITunes. Note that there is limited accessibility of the App in terms of access to captioning, etc. If using the app, launch the URL from your mobile device and that will open the App (if loaded on your mobile device).


Use THIS LINK (This link is active 45 minutes prior to the start of the session)
Audio will be broadcast via your computer/app if you have speakers/headphones attached.
Closed captioning is available via the webinar platform (not accessible from the Mobile App)

TELEPHONE OPTION OR AUDIO: 1–866–854–6779 Passcode: *3956839* (This is a toll free line)

ASKING QUESTIONS DURING THE WEBINAR: Questions during the live webinar can be submitted via to the chat area within the webinar platform or if you are listening by phone and not connected to the platform you can submit your questions by email to webinars@adaconferences.organd the organizers will receive your questions for consideration during the webinar.

If you experience technical problems accessing the webinar please call 877–232–1990 (V/TTY) for assistance.

Questions regarding the content of the webinar should be directed to Amber Smock at Access Living, at

Back to top
Back to Health

Last edited by Tyler Schuster.   Page last modified on January 13, 2017

Legal Information |  Designed and built by Emergency Digital. | Hosted by Steadfast Networks