BadgerCare Childless Adults Changes Will be Voted on May 21

Tomorrow the Joint Committee on Finance is scheduled to vote on proposed changes to the BadgerCare childless adult benefit.

As you may recall, the proposed budget changes health care coverage for Wisconsin’s Childless Adult population by requiring the department to seek a waiver from the federal Department of Health and Human Services to impose monthly premiums for all enrolled childless adults and additional premiums for behaviors which increase an individual’s health risks. Additionally, the waiver will seek the authority to require health risk assessments and screening for drug use to receive benefits. Finally, enrollment for childless adults will be for a maximum of 48 months.

Many disability groups are concerned that the proposed requirements to charge premiums to very low income people living below the poverty line and to limit enrollment to 48 months will result in individuals with disabilities losing access to health insurance, and essential services needed to maintain their health and independence. Other groups which advocate for low income people have expressed concerns about the overall impact on the BadgerCare childless adult population.

Contact information for the Finance Committee is attached for your information, should you want to contact them regarding the BadgerCare changes. Since this will be up at Finance tomorrow, there is a short window to make your contacts. The alternatives for Finance to vote on are laid out in Paper 354.

Barbara Beckert, Milwaukee Office Director: DISABILITY RIGHTS WISCONSIN
6737 W. Washington St., Suite 3230 Milwaukee, WI 53214
414–773–4646 Ext 15 Voice
414–773–4647 Fax
barbara.beckert@drwi.org

Contact information:

Senator Alberta Darling (R-River Hills)
(608) 266–5830
Sen.Darling@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative John Nygren (R-Marinette)
(608) 266–2343
Rep.Nygren@legis.wisconsin.gov

Senator Luther S. Olsen (R-Ripon)
(608) 266–0751
Sen.Olsen@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Dale Kooyenga (R-Brookfield)
(608) 266–9180
Rep.Kooyenga@legis.wisconsin.gov

Senator Sheila Harsdorf (R-River Falls)
(608) 266–7745
Sen.Harsdorf@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Dean Knudson (R - Hudson)
(608) 266–1526
Rep.Knudson@legis.wisconsin.gov

Senator Leah Vukmir (R - Wauwatosa)
(608) 266–2512
Sen.Vukmir@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Amy Loudenbeck (R - Clinton)
(608) 266–9967
Rep.Loudenbeck@legis.wisconsin.gov

Senator Thomas Tiffany (R - Hazelhurst)
(608) 266–2509
Sen.Tiffany@legis.wi.gov

Representative Michael Schraa (R - Oshkosh)
(608) 267–7990
Rep.Schraa@legis.wisconsin.gov

Senator Howard L. Marklein (R - Spring Green)
(608) 266–0703
Sen.Marklein@legis.wi.gov

Representative Mary Czaja (R - Irma)
(608) 266–7694
Rep.Czaja@legis.wisconsin.gov

Senator Lena C. Taylor (D - Milwaukee)
(608) 266–5810
Sen.Taylor@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Chris Taylor (D - Madison)
(608) 266–5342
Rep.Taylor@legis.wisconsin.gov

Senator Jon Erpenbach (D - Middleton)
(608) 266–6670
Sen.Erpenbach@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Gordon Hintz (D - Oshkosh)
(608) 266–2254
Rep.Hintz@legis.wisconsin.gov

Back to top
Back to Front Page

Last edited by Tyler Schuster.   Page last modified on May 20, 2015

Legal Information |  Designed and built by Emergency Digital. | Hosted by Steadfast Networks